This guide is designed to support your success in COM103, an 8-week course where you will grow as a confident speaker, ethical communicator, and civic voice. At the bottom of the page, you'll find links and videos that you'll use throughout the course.
Some potentially usefully databases in which to find popular and peer-reviewed articles.
-
Communication and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
- Why search here?
Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers. - What's included?
This database discusses all aspects of communication including advertising, public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
- Why search here?
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year. This publication contains in-depth articles focusing on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. All perspectives are covered and this is an excellent source when writing an argumentative essay. - What's included?
Each single-themed report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist, footnoted and professionally fact checked. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
-
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
- Why search here?
Opposing Viewpoints contains articles, reports, opinions, general information, and more that provide different viewpoints on controversial topics and popular social issues. A great place to search lists of topic or research ideas for assignments. - What's included?
Content in this database includes topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Includes an easily searchable list of some of the most hotly-debated topics.
-
Better Business Speech
Publication Date: 2017-10-06 -
Present Like a Pro
Publication Date: 2017-01-26 -
Threats to Civil Liberties
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
-
Personal Report of Communication Apprehension (PRCA-24)This instrument is composed of 24 statements concerning feelings about communication with others.
-
123 Career TestTake a free career aptitude quiz to explore fields that match your personality and interests
-
Occupational Outlook Handbook (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)Find accurate job descriptions, growth projections, salary ranges, and required qualifications for thousands of careers